top of page
Search
  • devenreads

In the Tall Trees

By Angel Van Atta


If you're looking for an emotionally charged read that will have you feeling all the feels, including anxiety, terror, fear, anger, more anger, and such an intense sadness that I can't even put into words right now. This is the book for you.


Mella, her mom, and baby brother, Peter, are trapped in a house in the woods. They're living in deplorable conditions. They're unable to leave. The only visitor they get is the Bad Man, who occasionally brings them food.


This man is a monster in the truest sense.

When an extreme situation takes place, Mella is tasked with making it to safety and finding help. Can she make it, or will the Bad Man get to her before she gets to safety?


This is the first book I've read by Angel Van Atta, and it definitely will not be my last. I felt like I was there beside Mella every word of this story. It was heartbreaking to read about what she was experiencing. The tension in this book was palpable, and you can feel it increasing with every scene. The last quarter of the book was so fast-paced and so intense.


I would have liked to have found out what happened after. At the same point in time, I'm glad it ended the way it did. Mella is a superhero.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

So, I've decided to write a book.

Yes, it's true! As some of you already know, I've had the idea for this book, in my head for several years. I have started and stopped writing it over several years. I had originally had the idea that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page